Three new things

I’ve been working on building up my wardrobe of winter clothes, as well as sewing some distraction projects – the ones that I feel like sewing as opposed to actually needing!

IMG_20160619_163127165

I’ll start with the things in the ‘need’ category. This Grainline Studio Driftless cardigan is so cozy!! I made it with the same merino blend fabric as this dress. It was heavily inspired by Lisa’s version, posted on the Tessuti blog, where she used the wrong side of a thickish knit. I wasn’t brave enough to go all-in with the wrong side so instead I just used it for the hem, cuff and front bands. It’s very warm and each time I wear it I feel like I’m wearing a big hug. What could be better?

IMG_20160619_163140602

The cowl is another essential item, but I knitted it way back in March. At the time I had a major obsession with this colour, rusty red, which admittedly I’m still in love with. I found my dream pattern/yarn combo with the Elena cowl and Quince and Co Chickadee. The cables look impressive but they were simple and fun to knit. The colour is bold but seems to go with everything in my wardrobe.

Now for the top that I probably didn’t need but that I really love!

IMG_20160619_163455854

This is a Rachel Comey for Vogue pattern. I’ve probably said this here before but I LOVE Rachel Comey. I want to own/wear pretty much everything she designs. This pattern (Vogue 1503) came out in the most recent release from Vogue, along with some other beauties, all of which I snapped up in a hurry. Recently I made my first version of this pattern out of some linen scraps (posted on Instagram) and pretty soon I decided to made a second one.

IMG_20160619_161707912_HDR

The coolest feature of this design is probably the shoulder, where the back overlaps to the front. It’s very simple to construct but is a really great detail. The sleeve cuffs and front ruffle are also bonuses in my book.

For this version I used some Marimekko linen that I had been coveting for some time. It was pricey so I only bought 0.8m! Pattern matching was out of the question, and I had to use the selvedge at the CB and the sides of the ruffle. One of the sleeves is cut on the cross grain, and due to fabric shortages I used a black linen from my stash for the lower back and the cuffs. The scraps from this top are non existent.

IMG_20160619_163311791

I kind of like how you can see the designer’s name on the CB join. The laundering instructions from the selvedge are visible on one of the side seams but I’m just rolling with it.

IMG_20160619_163500609

The only drawback to this pattern is that the armholes are cut quite low, so range of motion is slightly impaired, but only if you want to do some arm swings. I like the way that it fits with my arms down and it’s still very comfortable, so I didn’t make any adjustments. I’d guess that raising the armhole would not have helped my range of motion issues considering how loose this is under the arms anyway. This is a Vogue size 12 which is the size that corresponds to my measurements. I’m happy with the fit but some people might want to size down depending on ease preferences.

So there you have it! Two cozy things and one thing that I just felt like sewing. Now back to sewing the pile of merino tees that I actually need 🙂

 

36 comments

  1. I reckon the ‘making do’ elements of your Rachel Comey/Marimekko top are actually the bits that make it! The black accents work really well and the selvedge is SO COOL – the most understated bit of designer branding ever. Also I hadn’t realised that the lower back section was not gathered, but now I’ve seen that I’m more tempted by the pattern…

  2. Such a great trio! And I love what you did with the Marimekko – it gives it a very cool edgy look and in no way looks unintentional or awry. Love it so much! And how do you get your cowl so snuggly up around your neck? Most cowls I make or have had experience of are too long or stretch and hang away from the neck. I have a long neck and it’s always cold!

    1. Thanks Jillian, I had no choice but to use the selvedge so I’m glad it turned out ok! I think that with cowls it’s all about the length, this one is about 130cm all around and it seems like quite a good length. I sewed one out of a merino scrap that’s even shorter and although it’s a tad tight it still works. Better snug that not I reckon.

  3. Gorgeous makes!! I love all three, but that Marimekko fabric is divine! I love the selvage on show too. Did you buy the RC patterns in NZ or online?

    1. Thanks Rebecca! I bought the RC patterns direct from McCalls when they were on sale. I was far too impatient to wait for them to show up in the shops here! In my experience, even with shipping they came out at about $16 NZ each, which is about what I’d pay here on sale anyway.

    1. The cardi pattern is a good one! I’ve also made it in a drapey knit and it works just as well as this thicker version. So easy to throw on in the mornings.

  4. The whole outfit is gorgeous and very you! You did a great job managing the top out of that precious meager amount of linen! Looks wonderful in the end.

  5. Both lovely! The Driftless didn’t really appeal to me til now, but I now I want one as a sort of ‘coatigan’ in a thick knit. I’m going to scoop up that Vogue in the next sale too, the shoulder is ace. Nice work ekeing out the fabric!

    1. Yes I think I prefer the Driftless as a coatigan style as opposed to something drapier. I have made it out of a softer merino and I don’t like it quite as much as this one. The structure of a thick knit brings out the cocoon shape a bit more. I think it’d look great on you.

    1. Funnily enough I didn’t think I’d buy it at first either, but I came around pretty fast as I always seem to do with Grainline releases. It’s certainly proven to be useful and is a pattern that I feel like I’ll reach for again and again.

  6. both brilliant, I love the shoulder detail on that top especially. the top is that great mix of formal and casual, and the quirky selvedge inclusion at the back only adds to the charm!

  7. Love the top and your version is making me reconsider the drift less pattern. I didn’t like the first versions I saw of it but yours looks great. And the fabric on that top is wonderful!

  8. I’ve been eyeing both the Driftless and the Comey patterns and this settles it. Absolutely gorgeous! And using linen for the top….mwah! Perfection.

  9. I love all three! You definitely got me sold on the Driftless Cardigan after trying it on! I try and stay away from Marimekko because of the price but I reckon I could handle 80cm 😉

    1. Oh man, I try to stay away too but in a moment of weakness I went in after teaching the other day. It’s so pricey even 80cm was pushing it. Glad I did though… I think!

  10. I love all three pieces and they are perfect together! The cardigan looks like a must sew and what is it not to love about the top – it’s gorgeous. I also love the colour palette of the outfit!

  11. I haven’t been that crazy about the Driftless until now (longer line cardigans look great on other people but I can’t seem to make them work!) but your version has me inspired to re-think that pattern, it’s so great. And yay for exposed selvedges, I love little hints of home sewing xx

  12. That top is gorgeous, I really really no I mean REALLY love what you’ve done with it. The fabric is just stunning and the inclusion off the selvedge just adds to its beauty. You have inspired me. Am now looking for the pattern.

Leave a Reply

