Billowy goodness

Ever since coming home from holiday, all I have wanted to wear is this billowy dress, posted a few weeks back. So I took my cue and made three more (more is more, right…?!), based on the same idea: take an existing bodice pattern, crop it, and attach a gathered skirt.

  

This version was made using the top from Simplicy 1366, a very popular pattern in blog land. I like it for the cool easy fit and fashionable dropped shoulder seams. I have already made another gathered dress from it, in my all time favourite Marimekko linen. I haven’t blogged about it but I did post it to Instagram. Back to this dress though: 

 

For this version I used a Nani Iro double gauze from my stash. I think this print is called Jewel Song. Double gauze is so soft and perfect for hot weather so I know I’ll get a ton of wear out of this one. The only modification I made was to scoop out the neckline a bit and finish it with a top-stitched facing. Facings seem to get a bad reputation but I really enjoy sewing them!
 

This type of dress gets to the core of what I enjoy about sewing: find a beautiful fabric and parade about in it! In fact, making this dress has cured me of the sewing doldrums so it must be good.  You’ll find me swishing around in these dresses until the weather cools down – my latest version is made from a large scale peach and white gingham linen. If you see someone looking like a giant picnic blanket, that’s me!  

 

30 comments

  1. I have major fabric envy, I’ve loved that print for so long! Your dress looks lovely and breezy, perfect for this humidity. Love the cuffs on the sleeves too 🙂
    (And wow, that cycle lane is rather pink!)

    1. Yes I love this print too! Did you see the kimono in Seamwork made up in this fabric? I had to be very disciplined and not order more in that colour way!

      1. I did! Where do you buy yours from? I could only find this colourway on Etsy when I was looking at the end of last year, and it was super expensive when shipping was added on…

      2. I got it on Etsy, maybe from Kate Japanese Fabric or something like that? The shipping wasn’t terrible (I think $15 us?) and surely the dollar must have been a bit better when I bought it. Our currency is so horrendous for online fabric shopping right now!

    1. Hah yes isn’t the skirt kind of awful? I was only tipped off on this pattern by other bloggers who had made the top. It’s a good top pattern though!

  2. Oh, I love this Bella! This is exactly the type of dress I discovered for myself last Fall and I want to make a bunch more this year. I have this fabric too and may just have to use it for one of these dresses!

    1. Oh you should! Double gauze suits the shape perfectly I think. I’m trying to figure out what fabric I could use for a winter version over tights… Could be my new uniform 😉

  3. What awesome fabric – it works perfectly in this dress! And this dress looks perfect for right now and this humid weather. PS I’m a facing fan from way back!

  4. Lovely dress Bella and this fabric is just perfect for the purpose! I’m with you regarding the facings, use them even when I line the dress, I like it how it looks from the inside with the lining is sandwiched between the dress and the fabric!

Leave a Reply

