Knitted things

I’m on a cold weather holiday at the moment, so to prepare for it I made myself some cozy new clothes. Most were sewn, but some were knitted. Over the next few weeks I’m planning to share what I made as I wear it, but for now I’ll start with some woollies!

Bellbird/Elsa

I knitted this cowl from a lovely Rowan wool, Cocoon, an early Christmas present from my Mum. It’s such a gorgeously soft wool, being 80% wool and 20% mohair. It sheds a lot so I end up looking extra hairy, but I’ll accept that in exchange for a warm neck!

Bellbird/Elsa

The pattern I used is Elsa by Carrie Bostick Hoge. It features a beautiful herringbone pattern, and knit up so quickly in the bulky cocoon. Although the final product looks complicated, it was really simple to knit and very easy to memorise.

Bellbird/Elsa

The jersey I’m wearing is the Lila pattern, also by Carrie Bostick Hoge. What a talented lady! I absolutely love this pattern and would knit it again in a heartbeat. I really like the interest added by the garter edging and curved hem, but the simplicity of the shape makes it easy to wear with just about anything.

Bellbird/Lila

For this, I used a merino/possum blend called Zealana Heron from Holland Road Yarn in Wellington. I had never used this yarn before, but I’m really pleased with the way it knitted up. It’s very soft and a bit fuzzy due to the possum, but somehow feels quite hardy at the same time. I would definitely knit with it again, especially since possums are a huge pest at home in NZ. Let’s just say I’m doing my bit for the environment by buying this stuff!

Bellbird/Lila

All in all I’m pleased with this knit, although next time I will make the underarms a bit deeper as I hate things to be snug there. Also I will do a stretchier bind off on the neck. Maybe it’s not too late to fix this one but it will have to wait until I get home.

Hope you enjoyed this little knit-erlude! I’ll be back soon with more travel makes!

7 comments

  1. I love both your pieces! I’ve had the Lila sweater queued for a while on Ravelry but just haven’t got to it. It looks like such a great staple and I love the colour and yarn you used. Must get my Caramel cardigan finished first. Acre and acres of stockinette are usually my downfall though, zzzzzzzz. Lol

Leave a Reply

