New favourites

I’ve had a bit of a thing for Breton tops for a while now, and the prospect of making one (or five) has been percolating for a few months. This week I finally made one!

Breton top and moss skirt

Since I was in a bit of a classic clothing mood I also knocked out another Grainline Moss skirt, and I’m pretty pleased with how the two garments look together.

Burda 7970

For the top, I used a pattern that I’ve had for a couple of years but have never made up. It’s Burda 7970, simply described on the pattern envelope as a close fitting t-shirt. The smallest size was a 38 which is technically a size too big for me, but since I wanted a relaxed look, it turned out to be perfect. Rather oddly, this pattern includes bust darts, which I think is a bit weird for a knit garment. I considered eliminating them but in the end I like the subtle shaping they provide. One change next time would be to raise them an inch as they are quite low on me.

Burda 7970Modifications that I made to the pattern before making this up were to raise the front neckline 8.5cm/3.5″, as the original pattern is very scooped and I wanted to have a boat neck. I drafted facings, which I interfaced and stitched down by machine. This is a look I’ve been really into lately, and I plan to incorporate it in future knit makes. I think that as long as the knit is pretty stable it works really nicely. I also shortened the top by about 4″. This pattern includes a dress length too, so I’ll be making a dress version as soon as I have time! We are going overseas soon and I think some more knit tops and dresses will be perfect for travelling. I used my sewing machine to sew all seams for ease of stripe matching, then finished everything on the overlocker. The hems were done with a small zig zag.

Burda 7970 and Moss skirt

I don’t have too much to say about the Moss skirt, except that I love this pattern!! It’s so easy and quick to put together. I think I did the cutting one night, and all the sewing the next. I made it up in a black corduroy that I got on sale at The Fabric Store. I think that all up this skirt cost about $10! I’m really happy with how the fly turned out, I think it’s my best yet, and I used a really nice Riri zipper and a cool textured gold metal button. Sewing satisfaction!

Grainline Moss

In in case you were wondering, these photos were taken atop Mt Eden, one of Auckland’s volcanic cones. Turns out blog photos feel a lot less awkward in a tourist location swarming with other people wielding cameras!

Burda 7970 and Moss

12 comments

  1. Yes, Breton stripes! Always so cool. I love the way you’ve finished the neckline, its looks so tidy and professional. I also love the button you used for your Moss, its gorgeous! Good buttons can be really hard to find (in Wellington, anyway!)

    1. Sometimes I think NZ is devoid of cool buttons. I got this at another button/trim wholesaler. They sell to the fashion industry. If you ever come up I’ll tell you where to go!

  2. Such a good idea to take blog photos in tourist destinations! The top and skirt both look really great, and look like the sort of clothes you’ll wear forever!

  3. Wow! Great makes and great photos! I would love to cuddle up in that grass hole/cone thingie, looks very cozy! 😉
    I love the button you chose and that fly is looking really good! And I have to keep your knit neckline facing technique in mind. I struggle a bit with hemming/finishing necklines on knits…
    And: is your hair for real?! It looks stunning every time! *-*

    1. Thanks! I really like the stitched facing finish for knits, I’ve pretty much given up on using a twin needle as I never get good results. I don’t think it would work on something stretchier than this though. It was really windy on top of the mountain, which explains the hair!

  4. Mt Eden – love it there! Both of these pieces are fantastic and I would totally steal them from you and wear them all the time if I could. Lucky you live on the other side of the globe! 🙂

    1. It’s a good thing you sew and you can whip both these things up! So easy! Mt Eden is my hood, the volcano is such a cool landmark, isn’t it. I think it’s awesome that you’ve been here.

  5. I love that look – relaxed but so cool. I definitely want to make one of those breton tops – they’re so flattering – I really like that skirt pattern too. I think it’d look great in winter with tights.

  6. When I saw these pictures, I thought: Bothanical Garden – Wellington! heheheh

    I never been in Auckland, is my next plan. And i really love your striped blouse. Perfect basics 🙂

Leave a Reply

