Sailors Top

Ahoy mateys! This is the FREE Sailors Top pattern by the wonderful and stylish Marilla Walker!

Sailors top

I really like stripes. Especially those of the navy variety. Who doesn’t! I also love a good boxy top, particularly if it involves dropped shoulders.

Sailors top

When I saw Marilla’s self-drafted pattern, I knew I had found my match. I’ve been looking for a pattern like this for a while, ever since I bought this navy and white striped fabric. I found it at Geoff’s Emporium, an eccentric local haberdashery, for $6 p/m, which is pretty much unheard of around here. It’s a cotton knit with a nice weight and drape, although the amount of colour that rubs off it onto everything else is probably a good indicator for why it was so cheap!

The pattern itself is very simple and a breeze to sew, with good clear instructions. The pattern is simply two rectangular shapes, one for the front and back, and one for the sleeves, with triangular gussets for the shoulders plus small under arm gussets (which are optional, but I like they way they look). Oh and an optional pocket!

Sailors topThe inside edge of the neckline is bound with bias tape, and I also chose to bind the inside edges of the shoulder gussets for some added stability. I used a Nani Iro binding from my stash. I used my sewing machine to sew the neckline and hems, and overlocked everything else. The whole thing was done in an afternoon. So satisfying!

Sailors top

Perhaps my favourite thing about this top is the way the dropped shoulders look from the side:

Sailors top

I really love the effect of this simple design. I have plans to make more of these, in more stripes of course! A dress version could be on the cards too. I hope you’ll give this pattern a go, thank you to Marilla for making it available for everyone!

17 comments

  1. Wow, this looks fabulous on you! I love how you finished the inside with the Nani Iro binding! No wonder this top makes you happy!

    Thanks for the link to the pattern. Will have to make one for me!

  2. I’m most definitely going to make one of these. Or 3! I really love this cool boxy look and the shoulder details are so great too. That top looks fab on you – I want to get that too!!

  3. Ah, love this! And thank you for posting this at the perfect moment! I read this before I went I to the fabric market and snatched up a metre of stripey stable jersey to shamelessly copy you! Ha!

Leave a Reply

