Sundottir in Wellington

It’s time for me to admit that not a lot of sewing has been happening around here! Today I present the main reason why…. my new Sundottir jersey.

IMG_1213
This jersey is my second completed knitted garment! I am rather pleased with it. The wool (Brooklyn Tweed Shelter in Long Johns) was given to me for my birthday by Ben, who also patiently took these blog photos on a recent visit to Wellington. If you’re a New Zealander then you’ll know that Wellington is wild of weather, so it was the perfect place to debut my new woolly jumper. Thankfully the wind and rain abated for a time and I was able to get some nice photos by the harbour. As they say, you can’t beat Wellington on a good day.

IMG_1221

IMG_1218
I really enjoyed knitting this jersey! Throughout the whole process I just couldn’t wait to wear it, which is always a great motivator. The wool is very soft, much softer than the Lett Lopi that I used for my Strokkur, however I do think that it will have a tendency to pill a bit. I really love the deep red of this wool and it’s quickly becoming a favourite colour. For my next knitted project I’m thinking about making a dark red cardigan to wear over dresses, however at this rate I’ll never do any sewing again, so I might take a bit of a knitting break over the next few weeks.

I think we can all agree that no trip is complete without a haberdashery purchase of some kind. I got these five vintage Vogue sewing patterns at the Minerva craft bookshop for $20! Woooo! So much great style inspiration! My younger sister is getting married next year and I already have grand plans to make something to wear from one of these beauties.

IMG_1246

On the fabric front I picked up this cream and black striped cotton jersey, with which I might make a tshirt, as well as a lovely mottled silk in pink and mauve tones. Any ideas for what I should make with that? I only got 1.5m so it’ll probably have to be a top of some description. Oh and I found two lovely buttons!

IMG_1248

I’m sure both will be relegated to my stash for a little while. The cupboard is bursting at the seams with amazing fabric, which is both a beautiful and overwhelming thing! How do you decide what to make next when you have an embarrassment of riches from which to choose??? I feel a bit paralysed. Must…stop….buying…fabric….

Anyway I’ll finish up with a photo I took of Wellington’s Oriental Bay. What a view!

IMG_1238

10 comments

  1. Gorgeous! I’ve seen this pattern pop up on sewing blogs a few times, and I just love it. I have absolutely no idea how to knit, but I think I’m going to have to learn! It’s good to hear that you’re fairly new to knitting – I was afraid you’d have to be really experienced before you could attempt a garment like this. You did a really fantastic job! Love the color too.

    1. Thanks Lindsay! I really only started knitting this year. Once you get your head around it, it’s pretty easy. The one thing I struggled with at first was recognising and correcting mistakes, but now I just try really hard not to mess up in the first place, which helps a lot! It’s such a portable project too, you can do it anywhere. Watch out though, you’ll get hooked!

  2. I’ve just discovered your blog – love the combination of sewing and knitting. Being a fellow NZ’r makes it even more interesting to read – love visiting wellington too. I’ve been inspired by other blogs to take up sewing again last year after a 10 year break and also rediscovering knitting. Indie patterns are fantastic and it is great to get feedback from bloggers re fitting etc. I have sewed many of the patterns you have and been happy with fit and style. My favourite has been the Julia cardigan – in merino of course! Well done for starting a blog, I think it is very brave of everyone who does that, to put themselves out there!

    1. Thanks for commenting, Lynda! I agree, sewing blogs have been really amazing for me too, just to read them and see what other people are up to can be such great inspiration. Also excited to have Kiwi readers, so thanks for saying hi!

  3. I have just found your blog and absolutely love your makes – have just spent over an hour reading it (and procrastinating!). I live in Wellington, and am coming up to Auckland soon for a weekend. I wondered if you have any tips on fabric shopping up there except for the usual places like Spotlight, The Fabric Store. Thanks =)

    1. Hi Frederica, apologies for the delayed reply! The Auckland branch of The Fabric Store is really good and a bit bigger than the Wgtn one, so it could be worth checking out. My other favourite place to find fabrics is Drapers Fabrics on Teed Street in Newmarket. It’s really close to Centerpoint, another fabric shop that sometimes has pattern sales. Have fun!

Leave a Reply

