Julia and Belcarra

I’ve been into quick sews lately. I think it’s a reaction to my ongoing little French jacket project, which is taking forever! It’s really only taking forever because I’m dragging my feet. Of course, indulging in other sewing projects on the side isn’t helping with progress. The upside of all this is that I have some great new basics in my wardrobe.

IMG_1145

Above is my second version of the Sewaholic Belcarra blouse. I made this dotty number out of a lovely cotton voile that I picked up at The Fabric Store last week. Until now I didn’t know how much I loved polka dots, but this fabric has opened my eyes! Polka dots be mine!! I have to admit to returning to The Fabric Store today to buy more of this print, but in silk crepe de chine. It was a bit embarrassing as I was there yesterday, too. The frequency of my visits is probably a little bit excessive!

IMG_1137

As for the blouse pattern itself, I think it’s fantastic! I like that it is a simple t-shirt, but the raglan sleeves and waist shaping give it a point of difference. I can imagine this same blouse but with navy sleeves, colour block style, which I might try for my silk version. It’s nice and roomy through the shoulders which is great for when you need to wave your arms around, but somehow the relaxed fit doesn’t stop it from feeling just a bit elegant. I can see this top in so many different types of fabric, and Tasia even left the hem straight so that it could work with a scalloped lace. Cool!

I’ve noticed around and about the internet that some people have expressed misgivings about the wide neckline. It is indeed rather wide, and for that reason I’m intending to add bra strap carriers to this as it does have a habit of sliding off my shoulders a bit. Otherwise, I love a wide neckline, I think it’s flattering. (By the way, there is a great tutorial for narrowing the neckline on the Sewaholic blog, here).

IMG_1156

The cardigan is the Julia Cardigan, which you can find here. It’s a great wardrobe staple, especially in this merino knit. It’s light and cozy and great for layering! I purchased my overlocker pretty recently so am only now discovering the benefits of whizzing up quick knit garments. I sewed this up the other day and was done and dusted by noon, and I didn’t even get up early or anything (cough 10am cough). It’s quick!

Finally I’ll leave you with a photo from our trip to the Auckland Zoo today. I wore my alternate Belcarra/Julia combo. What do you think of my tall new friends?!

juliacardigan2

 PS Photo taking credit goes to Ben!

11 comments

  1. The spotty is just so cute. It really highlights the design lines of the pattern. You are right, those raglan sleeves are a lovely feature.

  2. I’ve been on the fence about the Belcarra pattern, but yours is so lovely it may have convinced me! And I’m so jealous you live near The Fabric Store – I’d go there every day too, if I could!

  3. Great post! Now I want to make that Belcarra blouse too! It would be adorable with navy sleeves, good idea!

  4. Hi Anna, I’m obsessed with your blog. My English isn’t very good, but I can understand that you write. =)

    I loved your polka dots blouse, pretty beautiful. And I love The Fabric Store too. ❤

    Patricia

Leave a Reply

