Named Leini Dress

A couple of weeks ago I made the Leini dress from Named. It is aptly described on the website as a cute and relaxed knee length summer dress. This is one of those dresses that you can never have too many of!

IMG_0933

I made it up in a lovely soft grey Liberty print that I purchased online from Shaukat. The name of the print is Melanie Atai. I searched for a long time for this print, having been inspired by dresses made by the British designer Nadia Izruna, under the label Nadinoo. Check out the website, her clothes are so beautiful!

IMG_0930

The pattern itself is quite simple, although after making up a toile of the bodice I had to make a couple of changes. I had a few issues with gaping, behind the back armsceye and also at the centre back, which is normal for me. I lengthened the bodice by half an inch and also widened the neckline a bit. Even so it was quite a tight fit over my head, so I added an opening at the back neckline and put in a loop and button closure, which I think lends nice detail to an otherwise simple dress.

IMG_0952

Here you can see the fabric and the bodice pleats up close. The pleats are a really nice touch I think. They add extra dimension to the dress, and add enough interest so that even in a solid this pattern would look great.

Although I have a couple of Named patterns in my stash already, including the Jamie jeans and the Alva collar, this was the first garment of theirs that I have sewn up. I have read a few bloggers who disliked the fact that the patterns must be traced, however I don’t mind. I really appreciate that there are not as many pages to glue together after printing. Plus a part of me enjoys tracing! My one comment would be that the instructions are not always super clear, for example I found the instructions for attaching the lining to the bodice a little confusing, and also the part where you join the skirt to the bodice to form the elastic casing. I just had to read over them a few times to completely understand, so it’s not a big deal. In the end I think that it’s a pretty and comfortable dress, and I love it!

IMG_0941

If you’re wondering what the twisty bench is all about, these photos were taken on the roof of the Auckland Art Gallery. I always love going up there. Not that many people seem to know about it so it is almost always deserted. Also, photo credit goes to my ever patient man companion, Ben!

One comment

Leave a Reply

