Finished: Grainline Moss skirt

Here it is! My finished Grainline Moss skirt.

Moss pocket

I’m pretty pleased with the way this skirt turned out. I decided to live life in the fast lane by not doing a toile first, as my measurements fit perfectly into one size. I found however that once the side seams were sewn up and I tried it on that it was a bit tight through the hips for my liking, so I just reduced the seam allowance to 1/4 of an inch from the pockets to the hem. I also lengthened the skirt hem by two inches.

One of my favourite things about this pattern is the curved waistband and the fantastic fit that it gives. I find the back rise especially flattering and comfortable. The waistband fits perfectly against my back and there is no gaping at all!

IMG_0824

It would have been a very quick sew except that I kept messing things up! Such as the fly front. In any case I re-did it and it came out perfectly the second time. Jen’s instructions are faultless, especially in conjunction with the tutorial on her blog. It was my very first fly front though so I probably should have done a practice run first.

IMG_0828As it’s coming into autumn here in NZ I decided to underline the skirt with a lovely grey silk cotton, for extra warmth and for some added slippery-ness for wearing with tights. Silk cotton has to be one of my all-time favourite textiles. Luxurious yet practical. The perfect lining for cottons and linens, in my opinion.

photo3

Without a doubt this little number will get lots of weekend wear. Anyone else getting on the April Moss making month bandwagon?

7 comments

  1. First comment, woohoo! Your blog is awesome, and you look so adorable! I am getting inspired to check out Grainline patterns… anyway, here’s to many more blog posts πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

